Finding the right plugin for the job (Part 1)

11 12 2011

For me, as a seasoned pro with years of experience under my belt, it is pretty easy to find the right plugin for the job. Most of the time I run on auto-pilot.
But for somebody like you, who has just started out, and maybe will never make it to the top, choosing the right plugin can be an overwhelming task.
It is important that you believe in yourself and give it an honest try. Don’t give up too easily. There are lots and lots of examples, where people with even less talent than you, have managed to find themselves a niche in the recording industry and have their little outcome. It’s not the best of lifes, but it is a life.

A case study

I was recording a hard rock band, and things went pretty smoothly, as is most often the case when you put a bunch of pros together. Real professional don’t mess around, they mean business. There is on room for people who want to have small talk for a couple of hours, then go off to have a coffee, and then come back at 9 o’clock in the evening to start working. That’s not how things work in the recording business.You have to be ready. You have to work hard and give your best. That’s what counts in the end, because that’s what brings the professional production to life.

So, I had already recorded the drums and the bass, but, although the tracks sounded good when played by themselves, I wasn’t quite satisfied with the way the sounded when played together. Something just didn’t seem quite right here, and knew immediately what it was. I had recorded the drums on several different tracks. I usually use one for kick drums, one or two for the snare, two for the toms and two for the overheads, also called cymbals. I had recorded the bass on one mono track by directly plugging it into my SSL console.
In order to keep the peaks under control, I used a little bit of compression from the built-in compressor. The SSL compressor sounds pretty nice. I only use a little, because it is easy to overdo. Compression, once applied, can not be taken away. You can not bring back something you have taken away before recording it. The recorded signal does not contain the information about the peak values anymore, and there is no way to bring them back. No matter how good the overall quality of the recording is, these are the universal rules or audio recording.

I had also applied a little bit of EQ. Not much, just a tad of highs added and some cutting below 33Hz in order to control the very low frequency range. That’s all I did. Now I had the tracks on my hard drive and loaded into Cubase. I had given the project a name and set up the input devices correctly. I was ready to go. The tracks did not blend together very well, and I knew that I had to do something about it, because if the tracks don’t fit together, it will be very hard to make a decent song. Everything should blend just fine, and appear to be part of the same song. That’s absolutely key for every single one of my productions.

Cubase Compressor[/caption]

I decided to use the Cubase compressor plugin. I selected the first tracks and fired it up. Bam! Instant gratification. I knew from experience what the right settings would be. There is always room to experiment, but it is good to have a rough idea of what the settings could be, to have a starting point. Otherwise you could try endlessly to get the track to sound better without any success. You would be completely lost. Maybe as a beginner you would even come to the conclusion, that a compressor is in fact not the right tool for the job, and start to look for alternatives. That would be a huge mistake, and it is of vital importance to void it. A beginner has to learn how to use a compressor, as it one of the most important tools in every mixing engineers arsenal. This includes being able to dial in sensible settings right away, and then go on from there.

I will continue this case study in part 2 of this tutorial.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

